Charlamagne Tha God To Host iHeartRadio Podcast Award Show


Internet radio platform iHeartRadio will soon feature its very first Podcast Awards show in January 18, 2019. The ceremony will be based in Los Angeles, California and will be hosted by Charlamagne Tha God of The Breakfast Club, alongside Holly Frey of Stuff You Missed in History Class and country radio host Bobby Bones.

Charlamagne is the owner of CThaGod World LLC and co-host of Brilliant Idiots a favorite podcast. Charlamagne Tha God has directed and acted in movies like Bodied (2017), on the run eating (2018) and Grow House (2017) to mention but a few. Charlamagne Tha God is a writer and has a book titled “Black Privilege” which ranked sixth in the New York Times of bestselling hardback nonfiction on May 7 2017. Another book he has written is titled “Shook One: Anxiety Playing Tricks On Me”. Go To This Page for additional information.

A livestream of the show is said to be hosted by Hollywood personality Mario Lopez.

iHeartRadio’s show will honor winners in a total of 22 award categories. 18 of those categories will select winners voted on by podcast fans while an award panel will choose winners for the 5 top listed categories: Podcast of the Year, Breakout Podcast, Best Branded Podcast, Best Social Impact from Podcast or Host and a Podcast Innovator Award.

Voting polls have been opened to fans on October 22, 2018 on the Awards website and on social media platorms, and will last through January 6, 2019. Various nominees have been announced for the Podcast of the Year category, including Dirty John, Atlanta Monster, Hardcore History, Joe Rogan, Radiolab, Serial, Slow Burn, Stuff You Should Know, The Daily and The Habitat.

iHeartMedia CEO and chairman Bob Pittman states that his company recognizes the rise of podcast media; iHeartMedia now offers greater than 20,000 shows to the users of its iHeartRadio mobile app. iHeart says that the awards show will highlight podcasts from all podcast content creators, media platforms and distributors and will not restrict awards to those shows developed within its own network.


Read Charlamagne’s other views on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *